Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Journals VS Popular Magazines
Find Journals by Title
Know the title of the journal you are looking for?
Do a quick search in the library catalog using the journal title
Note that when a Professor tells you not to use Internet sources, getting journal articles from the databases is still a viable alternative. The journal articles are NOT considered Internet sources even though we utilize the Web to access the articles.
Databases are the best way to find quality articles. BGSU, along with the other OhioLINK Library members, pool their money to subscribe to many wonderful databases that allow you to print full text articles for free. Because of our affiliation with BGSU, we have access to over 300 databases. Doing a search on the Web will not always allow you to access good scholarly information that you are expected to use for college level research and many times web sites expect you to pay for articles or subscriptions for usage.
The first step to finding relevant research articles is determining which databases are most useful for your topic.
A good starting place is Academic Search Complete (EBSCO database). This is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with many Full Text articles.
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals
- Can add other EBSCO databases to your search using the Choose Databases link at the top of the page.
- Articles may be available in full text via HTML or PDF formats.
- If there isn't a link to the full text, clicking on Find It will show availability of the journal at the Firelands Library or may provide a link to full text in another database or in the Electronic Journal Center (EJC).
Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available. In order to get an article that is not available online or in print form you need to complete the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form.
Power Point - Searching for articles in the databases