Comparative Government (POLS 1710) United Nations and World Statistical Information: Home
This guide will help you with research papers and presentations regarding countries, their governments, their economies, and other specific information.
World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Nation MasterCompilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
BBC Country InformationProfiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Monthly Country Statistics"current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects."
Yearly Country StatisticsA summary compilation of some frequently viewed statistics. Includes data on population, education, employment, manufacturing, trade, and other categories. Analogous to the Statistical Abstract, only on a global scale.
UNDataOver 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
Millenium Development GoalsThis site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals
Population Information NetworkThe Population Information Network (POPIN) was founded on 9 May 1979, by resolution 1979/33 of the United Nations Economic and Social Council. POPIN strives to make international, regional and national population information, particularly information available from United Nations sources, easily available to the international community.
World Bank StatisticsThe World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data about various countries.
World Trade OrganizationIt is an organization for trade opening. It is a forum for governments to negotiate trade agreements. It is a place for them to settle trade disputes. It operates a system of trade rules. Essentially, the WTO is a place where member governments try to sort out the trade problems they face with each other.
Library of CongressContains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.
Official UN Documents SeachODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
Environmental StatisticsCountry Snapshots provide a selection of national environment statistics, complemented by key economic and social indicators.
Look and see if any of the countries you are researching have websites in English.
Security and Peacekeeping
United Nations PeacekeepingUnited Nations Peacekeeping helps countries torn by conflict create the conditions for lasting peace.
Nuclear Concerns (NUCLEUS)NUCLEUS provides access to over 130 IAEA scientific, technical and regulatory resources. This includes databases, websites, applications, publications, safety standards, training material and more
United Nations Office of Disarmament AffairsThe Office promotes:
Nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation.
Strengthening of the disarmament regimes in respect to other weapons of mass destruction, and chemical and biological weapons.
Disarmament efforts in the area of conventional weapons, especially landmines and small arms, which are the weapons of choice in contemporary conflicts.
International Court of JusticeThe International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.
The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York (United States of America).
The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.
The Court is composed of 15 judges, who are elected for terms of office of nine years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council. It is assisted by a Registry, its administrative organ. Its official languages are English and French.
Peacekeeping MapsFrom the UN Cartographic Section. Maps are in PDF format, for both current deployment and an archives section for previous missions.
Kofi Anan Peacekeeping Training Center LibraryThe Library is a unique and excellent facility for research, study and training in conflict prevention, management and resolution as well as peace support operations and other related disciplines.
International Atomic Energy AgencyThe IAEA was created in 1957 in response to the deep fears and expectations generated by the discoveries and diverse uses of nuclear technology.
Federation of American ScientistsProvides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons.
FIRSTThe FIRST system offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends. It contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information in areas such as:
*conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure
*hard facts on states and international organizations
*economic and social statistics
*chronologies
Migration Policy InstituteMPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
All Inclusive Article Search
EBSCOEBSCO is a collection of databases that allows you to search for articles.
LexisNexisLexisNexis provides access to nearly 6,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. News coverage includes national, regional and campus newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources dating back to 1977. LexisNexis is also a good place to find company profiles and industry information, coverage of general medical and health topics, accounting and tax information, and federal and state laws, legislation and legal cases.
Passport GMIDDemographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries, as well as detailed income, expenditure and lifestyle statistics.
Health and Human Rights
World Health Organization (WHO)Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.
UNICEFUNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child, in everything we do. Together with our partners, we work in 190 countries and territories to translate that commitment into practical action, focusing special effort on reaching the most vulnerable and excluded children, to the benefit of all children, everywhere.
UNESCOUNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child, in everything we do. Together with our partners, we work in 190 countries and territories to translate that commitment into practical action, focusing special effort on reaching the most vulnerable and excluded children, to the benefit of all children, everywhere.
Human Development ReportThe mission of the Human Development Report Office (HDRO) is to advance human development. The goal is to contribute towards the expansion of opportunities, choice and freedom. The office works towards this goal by promoting innovative new ideas, advocating practical policy changes, and constructively challenging policies and approaches that constrain human development. The office works with others to achieve change through writing and research, data analysis and presentation, support to national and regional analysis and outreach and advocacy work.
UN Human RightsThe Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) represents the world's commitment to universal ideals of human dignity. We have a unique mandate from the international community to promote and protect all human rights.
UN WomenUN Women is the UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.
Human Rights WatchHuman Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe. Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities. Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media. With the leverage this brings, Human Rights Watch meets with governments, the United Nations, regional groups like the African Union and the European Union, financial institutions, and corporations to press for changes in policy and practice that promote human rights and justice around the world.
Amnesty InternationalThrough our detailed research and determined campaigning, we help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. We bring torturers to justice. Change oppressive laws. And free people jailed just for voicing their opinion.
International Labour OrganizationThe only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers representatives of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
USAIDUSAID is the lead U.S. Government agency that works to end extreme global poverty and enable resilient, democratic societies to realize their potential.
Climate DataMade up of a suite of tools that allow users to utilize the data to understand considerations of equity in climate negotiations, see transparency and available information in country climate action comitments, interact with historical emissions data, and dive into the methodologies behind future emissions projections. CAIT allows national governments, international organizations and independent researchers to perform relevant analysis and promote efficient action on climate change.
OxfamTakes a rights-based approach to our development, humanitarian and campaign work. Oxfam believes that all people are entitled to decent work and income security and to essential services such as health and education, and that everyone should have gender equality, security from conflict and disasters, and be able to participate in social and political life. Here you'll find a wide selection of reports and papers on the programming, advocacy and research that we undertake in order to achieve these aims.
