BIOLOGY: Articles & Databases

  E-Journals

• Academic Search Complete

  A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Academic Search Complete is an excellent research tool for almost any topic.
• BIOSIS Previews

  BIOSIS Previews includes Biological Abstracts (an index to over 4,200 international life sciences journals) as well as reports, reviews and meetings covering life sciences and biomedical research. Pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and environmental and consumer issues are all included, as is the published literature on life sciences topics from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.
• Environment Complete

  Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal articles, monographs and conference papers on environmental topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, pollution & waste management, environmental law, and more.
• Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

  Index to journal articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This database is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 430 core titles, the majority of which are published in English.
• GreenFILE

  Indexing and abstracts to articles and government information on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
• ISI Web of Knowledge

  ISI Web of Knowledge is the web platform for all ISI databases. BGSU has access to four different ISI databases: the Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (1965 to present), the Derwent Innovations Index (Patents) (1963 to present), BIOSIS Previews (1969 to present) and MEDLINE (1950 to present). Journal Citation Reports from 2004-2009 are also available.
• PubMed Central: An Archive of Life Science Journals

  A digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature that offers free access to full-text articles from hundreds of peer-reviewed journals. A project of the National Library of Medicine.
• Science Reference Center

  Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. A place to search full-text encyclopedias covering biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Designed for students, it also includes state and national curriculum standards for mapping to the needs of K-12 students.Biographies, images and some videos are also included.