Skip to main content
BGSU Firelands Library

Social Sciences: Core Databases

Including Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology & Sociology

History

 Historical Abstracts 

Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (North American history is covered in America: History and Life.) Historical journals from virtually every major country are represented, plus a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. References to book reviews and dissertations are also included.

JSTOR

Full-text archive to hundreds of leading academic journals covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. All titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating back to the early 19th century. Though some titles are available through the most current issues, issues from the past 3-5 years are not available for most titles. All text is fully searchable and all articles are reproduced in high-quality pdf images that can be printed, downloaded or saved. BGSU has access to around 1,000 titles in nine JSTOR collections covering history, economics, political science, sociology, mathematics, ethnic studies, art history, music, film, the performing arts, education and law, among other subjects. 

New York Times Historical 

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Political Science

Political and Governmental Databases

A list of databases having to do with political information and government.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Contains over 65,000 important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents related to homeland security, as well as specialized resources from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies. Both contemporary and historical issues are represented. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject specialists.

 

Sociology

SocINDEX (with Full Text) 

Indexing and abstracts for over 1,200 core journals in sociology, over 3,000 additional journal titles, as well as books, book chapters and conference papers. Many of this material is full text, including the contents of nearly 800 journals dating back to 1908. SocINDEX provides comprehensive, scholarly coverage for topics such as abortion, criminal justice, ethnic studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social work, substance abuse and addictions, and violence.

Social Work Abstracts 

Indexing and abstracts for over 450 social work and human services journals. Articles included deal with all aspects of the social work field, including therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights. Theory and practice and professional perspectives are covered as well as scholarly research studies. 

Psychology

PsycINFO

Citations to and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, and education. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,500 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection 

Full text scholarly psychology journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.