Skip to main content
BGSU Firelands Library

History Resources: Full Text Historical Newspapers

Databases with Full Text Historical Newspapers

Access NewspaperARCHIVE, coverage varies: 1700's - present

This database contains millions of searchable newspaper pages from around the world.  Dates of coverage vary, but some newspapers are available from the 1700's.  Some newspapers have coverage for only a few years, while others have coverage for long spans.

America's Newspapers, coverage varies: 1984 - present

Coverage includes 5 Ohio newspapers.  Coverage of each newsapaper varies, with some available only for the past 5 years, but some newspapers are available from as early as 1985.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1960 - present

Full text of ethnic, minority, and native magazines and newspapers in the United States.

Factiva, coverage varies: 1980 - present

Factive indexes the full text of newspapers and magazines from many countries.  Coverage of newspaper titles varies, but some newspapers are available from as early as 1980.

Lexis Nexis Academic, coverage varies

Indexes legal, business, and news sources.  Includes of a wide variety of newspapers from many countries.  Coverage of the newspapers varies, but some are from at least as early as 1980.

New York Times Historical, 1851 - 4 years ago

Digitized version of the New York Times. 

Newspaper Source, coverage varies: 1985 - present

Indexes 245 U.S. newspapers, plus a few international newspapers.  Coverage varies, but full text is rarely earlier than 1997, although some newspapers have bibliographic records from as early as 1985.

Internet Sites with Links to Online Historical Newspapers