Skip to main content
BGSU Firelands Library

History Resources: Government Docs

Start Here

BGSU Libraries Catalog

Many government documents are listed in the BGSU Libraries Catalog. Don't forget you can restrict your search to materials in the Government Documents Collections.

OhioLINK Central Catalog

If the BGSU Libraries don't own a copy of the document, check the holdings of the other OhioLINK Libraries.

GPO Monthly Catalog, 1976 to present

Indexes U.S. government publications.  Paper copy of issues from 1895-1976 is available in the Jerome Library Government Document Index area at GP 3.8:

LexisNexis Congressional

Indexes U.S. Congressional hearings, documents, reports, bills, legislative history, etc. 1789 to present.  Full text is available for some items 1980 to present.

Other Useful Databases

American State Papers

This full text database is comprised of important executive and legislative documents published from 1789 to 1838.

Audiovisual Library of International Law

Includes texts, videos, etc. about international legal instruments promulgated by the United Nations.  Includes videos of legal lectures, texts of treaties and laws, documents about these instruments, and links to sites with other resources about international law.

DSP E-Collection

A searchable database of full text Canadian government documents.

GPO Access

A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free online access to over 70 U.S. government databases.  A few of the databases are: Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, General Accounting Office Reports, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.

Official Documents of the United Nations

A searchable, full text database of United Nations documents.  Includes some documents beginning in 1946, but most documents are 1993 to present.

PAIS International, 1972 to present

Indexes articles, reports, and government documents on economics, political science, and current affairs.  Includes links to full text reports and government documents.  Paper issues for 1915-1972 in the Jerome Library Main Reference Collection at REF Z 7163 .P9.

Statutes at Large, 1789 to present

A searchable database of full text U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.  Includes current U.S. federal laws and the most up to date U.S. Code.

 

 

Documents Collections

 

The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, Bowling Green, and Canadian government documents.  For more information, see the Government Documents Collection page.