Skip to main content
BGSU Firelands Library

History Resources: Articles

Start With These Databases

America: History & Life, 1964 - present

Citations to articles, dissertations, etc. on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts, 1955 - present

An index to articles, books, dissertations, etc. on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered by the America: History & Life database).

JSTOR

Full text articles from scholarly journals on many topics, including history.  You can search groups of journals, by subject, or search individual titles.  This is an archival collection, so you usually won't find journal from the most recent 3-5 years, but you will find back files of journals that may go back to the 19th century.

 

Some Additional Useful Databases

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's

Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title).  This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.

HarpWeek, 1857 - 1871

Digitized version of Harper's Weekly, a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1975 - present

Indexes articles and other resources on the history of science, technology, and medicine, and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present.

Humanities International Complete, 1925 - present

A searchable database of the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities, including history.

In the First Person

A free index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.  It lets you perform keyword searches of transcripts, audio and video files, and bibliographic records.  Many of the materials indexed are available free on the Internet, but some require a subscription.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890 - 1982

Indexes articles in the popular press, including history, government, and education.  Few of these articles are full text in the database, but BGSU owns many of them in paper, microfiche, or microfilm. 

Web of Science, 1980 - present

This includes all three ISI citation databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Sciences Citation Index Expanded. 

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

A good source of primary source material of women's suffrage, labor conditions, diversity, and other topics in women's history. 

 

Useful Print Indexes

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974
MAIN REF INDEX Z 6205 .C18

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974
MAIN REF INDEX Z 6205 .C185x

International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7

Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Social Sciences Index, 1974 - 1998
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .S62

Full Text Newspapers

 

If you're looking for full text historical newspaper articles, see the Full Text Historical Newspapers page.

Find Full Text Articles

 

To find full text journals, see the E-Journals, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers page.

If you already have a citation, try OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup.